wonder.

As I’ve often written about, music has been a big part of my journey through infertility / adoption / exploring my relationship with God. I’ve listened to many a song on repeat, letting it’s message sink into my skin & heart. Honestly, I didn’t particularly like this song {Wonder, by Bethel Music} when I heard it. It was okay, but just wasn’t right for my frame of mind at that time I guess.

As our transfer drew closer, I listened to it more and more…and it made it’s way onto my repeat list. Simple lyrics, lots of repetition…and yet I came to find that it made me think. It’s the line “you are beautiful in all your ways” that I really came face to face with. {I do this often you know…remember “it is well” from the same album?} Singing it over and over forced me to consider if I was just paying lip-service or if it was something I truly believed, a praise/prayer of sorts I could pray each time I sang. I spent a few days thinking on it, and as He often does, God kept causing it to pop up in front of me in random ways.

Does He really make all things beautiful? 

I’m far enough down this road with Him that I knew it was likely true ;), but I still felt it necessary to examine it against my mind & heart. {I’ll even go so far as to say it’s a conclusion I will continue to struggle through…life is full of ups and downs, and eventually this season will end. But one day, a new trial will come our way. And again, I imagine I’ll have to wrestle with the questions. Is it well? Can He make this beautiful?}

Anyway, I’m getting off track.

On Tuesday, and in the days since, when I look at the pictures of just the tiniest little loves…my heart just sings with the beauty of it, of them, of Him. To be able to glimpse God through these little embryos…to realize how big He is and how small we really are…it’s mesmerizing. I am wide eyed and mystified.

And so, it just seems right. I’m dubbing this “our song.” I imagine it’s how every parent feels when they hold their baby for the first time, or when they feel the first kick…we just got to experience the beauty in different way than most. He fascinates me…the intricacies of new life, that He would allow us a part in it…a glimpse of it.

He has brought beauty from the ashes.

Blessed am I.

Wonder, by Bethel Music

May we never lose our wonder
May we never lose our wonder
Wide eyed and mystified
May we be just like a child
Staring at the beauty of our King
(Repeat x3)

Ooooh oh oh
Fill us with wonder
May we never lose our wonder
May we never lose our wonder
Wide eyed and mystified
May we be just like a child
Staring at the beauty of our King

Cause you are beautiful in all your ways
King of Kings
You are beautiful in all your ways
Ooooh
Cause you are beautiful in all your ways
Just close your eyes
Just close your eyes, you’ll see him
You are beautiful in all your ways
Open the eyes of our heart to see you God

May we never lose our wonder
May we never lose our wonder
Wide eyed and mystified
May we be just like a child
Staring at the beauty of our King
(Repeat x2)

Cause you are beautiful in all your ways
Oh you are, yes you are
You are beautiful in all your ways
We give our lives to sing
Oooh oh oh
Cause you are beautiful in all your ways
Ooooooh
Cause you are beautiful in all your ways
Oooooooooooh
You fascinate me
You fascinate us
You fascinate us, with you are
You fascinate us
You fascinate us
You fascinate us with your love
You are beautiful
You are glorious
You are beautiful
Yes you are
You are beautiful
You are glorious
You are beautiful

You are beautiful in all your ways
You are beautiful in all your ways

May we never lose our wonder

Read more: Bethel Music – Wonder Lyrics | MetroLyrics

Leave a Reply

