Let it be so, Lord.

As if he wasn’t grown up enough already, my little brother is now a husband.

brother

The groom was handsome, the bride stunning, the wedding lovely. {And the cake delicious, of course.} *wink*

One of their best friends from college officiated the ceremony. It was his first wedding, but you would have thought he was a seasoned pro… and as I sat there, just two days past our 4th anniversary, I thought so much of what he said to Caleb & Jessica was so timely, so true. As they repeated their vows to one another, Chris and I held hands & I couldn’t help but think back to our own story of for better or worse, in sickness or health, for richer or poorer, in good times and in bad, in joy as well as in sorrow. When he said that love isn’t something we fall into or out of, but an action that we choose I said a silent amen. As he talked about how marriage is a picture of God’s love and commitment to the body of Christ, I marveled at the picture of love God has given us…at the seriousness of this role we play as husbands and wives. When he told them that when the hard times came, as they most surely would, they were to think back to this day and to this covenant commitment they made…to trust God and love one another through it…I had to catch my breath a little bit.

Part of me wishes they wouldn’t ever have to go through those hard times. It’s not something you normally wish on others, especially those you love. BUT, because I know that struggle in marriage and life is inevitable…and that through it you can draw near to Jesus, become more like Him…the prayer changes from one of safety and comfort to one of unity and strength in Christ.

Caleb shared with me before the day before the wedding that throughout their engagement, although most people would congratulate them and wish them well, they would follow it up with some sort of a slam on marriage. It happened over and over again he said, and he & Jessica found it to be both sad and discouraging. It made me pause and wonder what picture of marriage Chris and I had portrayed to them over the past year. The year that more times than not felt like “worse, sickness, poorer, bad, sorrow.” {Even though it feels more than a little dramatic to type it out that way…} I hope they still saw the joy, the good, the love. I hope they still saw Jesus. Marriage is hard sometimes, yes, but it also incredibly beautiful and one of life’s greatest blessings.

So what I wish for them…for their future, for the marriage, for the family they will build together…is Jesus. Even at our best, we are still a broken people, but with Jesus the gaps are filled, the hurts are healed. With Jesus struggles have meaning and joys are felt more deeply. Jesus is the source of love, the one who makes it possible for us to choose love on the days our spouse is anything but loveable, as He first lavishes love on us. Jesus is the hope and strength they’ll need to have a marriage of peace and contentment, and He is the one who will direct them as they build a life that glorifies God.

It’s what I wish for Chris & I.

It’s what I wish for the marriages of those I know and love.

And ultimately, it’s the kind of life I pray my children will have one day.

Lives and marriages filled to the brim and overflowing with Jesus.

Let it be so, Lord.

Blessed am I.

 

One thought on “Let it be so, Lord.

Leave a Reply

