One Burning Bush Please.

Wouldn’t life be easier if God would just always get our attention and talk to us from a burning bush? 😉

One Sunday we talked about that briefly in our Sunday School class, referencing a *great* song by Love & the Outcome, as my teacher & her family are in the waiting stages of adoption. They’ve been waiting on their match about a year and a half, and she was needing a fresh word from God that He still had a plan for them…a baby intended for their family.

Later that night, as we were praying together, Chris asked God to clearly reveal His plan for us with embryo vs. traditional adoption. I busted into the prayer, singing my best rendition of “I’d like a burning bu-ush…” as my portion of the prayer. {Hey, it doesn’t always have to be so serious! God has a sense of humor!} Of course, Chris immediately came back with a witty response & reminded/reassured God that it’s very dry here, and we don’t require a wildfire to reveal His plan for us.

Oh that man.

Anyway, we had a good giggle and then went to sleep. The next morning, when I turned to my daily bible reading {I’m reading through the chronological Bible this year} it was about….wait for it….I’m sure you know where I’m going here…Moses & the burning bush.

Obviously, I was pretty interested to read about Moses’ experience…about what God revealed to him. Some might think that what I took away from it was a stretch…and maybe in some ways it is…but I still find it in line with what I know of God’s heart.

Exodus 3:7 – 12a:  “The Lord said, I have indeed seen the misery of my people in Egypt. I have heard them crying out because of their slave drivers, and I am concerned about their suffering. So I have come down to rescue them from the hand of the Egyptians and to bring them up out of that land into a good and spacious land, a land flowing with milk and honey …. and now the cry of the Israelites has reached me, and I have seen the way the Egyptians are oppressing them. So now, go. I am sending you to Pharaoh to bring my people the Israelites out of Egypt. But Moses said to God “Who am I that I should go to Pharaoh and bring the Israelites out of Egypt? And God said, “I will be with you.”

From there, I wanted to clarify the definition of oppression, so I looked that up next. Most definitions look something like this: prolonged cruel or unjust treatment or control.

Prolonged unjust treatment.

Wow.

I definitely see how that could apply to orphans across the world and in foster care. Could it also apply to embryos that are created, but then frozen…perhaps indefinitely…and not given the opportunity to experience further life?

And reading that, it got me thinking…could it be that the Lord is saying…’I have indeed seen the misery of my children who are frozen. I have heard them crying out for a chance to live, and I am concerned about their suffering. So I have come down to rescue them, to bring them out of their waiting and into a home, either on earth or in heaven. Their cry has reached me, and I have seen their oppression.’

I know the value God places on life…that He is the author and creator of each life…that He cares deeply for His creation and desires that all should come to know Him and be called His children. I know He has commanded us to care for orphans {James 1:27}, and I believe that these embryos are a new generation of orphans.

Then, as we consider this as what God might be planning for our family, I find myself echoing the words of Moses. “But who am I God? Who am I to try this wild plan? I’m not brave Lord. I wrestle with fear…who am I?”

And there He is…not in a burning bush, but in a still small voice…in the words I read in my Bible, hear in songs, and hear whispered into my heart…”I will be with you.”

It wasn’t about Moses. It’s not about me. When God has a plan, and invites you into it…when you cry out “Me? Are you sure Lord?”…He says “I’ll be with you.”

I will be with you.

I will be with you.

I will be with you.

It doesn’t mean that He promises a baby come to term & be born into our physical family through embryo adoption. It doesn’t mean that we won’t have to wait, even years perhaps, for a child through traditional adoption.

But what it does mean is huge. I {as in God, not Heather} have a plan for my people, for my creation. I am inviting you to join me in the work I am doing. No matter what happens in the process of me completing the work I have started, I will be with you.

I will be with you.

I will be with you.

And in that moment, in the moments now as I type these words…that small voice, those words breathed by God himself into scripture, begin to flicker up and turn into a raging fire of hope and strength in my heart.

Turns out that the burning bush I needed wasn’t so much about this way or that way…but about refocusing me on THE way.

God is with me. God is in our call to adopt.

I pray the truth of those words, of the fire He has lit within me, would consume me in the days and decisions to come.

He will be with me.

Blessed am I.

Leave a Reply

