Be Born in Me.

This past Sunday we had our combined worship service / Christmas program. It was both a beautiful time of worship & focus on the joy of Christ as the reason for the season….and I felt so challenged by both the service and our Sunday School lesson to really let Christ ‘light me up’ with the peace & joy He gives.

There was one particular song which just took my breath away. {It also, to borrow words from a friend of mine, completely wrecked me.} I haven’t been able to stop thinking about it, and spent most of my kid-free time at school today hitting replay so that I could hear it over and over.

It is just this stunning reminder of what God truly did for us by sending Jesus as a little baby…and what we do when we ask Jesus to “be born in us.”

And for me, with this lense through which I see life as of late, it spoke to me of adoption…of what I am praying for in regards to the way a baby is being born in my heart. It is so fitting to me…below are the lyrics and my brief thoughts & connections

Be Born in Me, by Francesca Battistelli

Everything inside me cries for order               {Um…yes!}
Everything inside me wants to hide                 {Been there…}
Is this shadow an angel or a warrior?

If God is pleased with me, why am I so terrified?   {I have faced fear as I consider the calling God has placed on our life…}
Someone tell me I am only dreaming                           {I felt this, especially in the beginning.}
Somehow help me see with Heaven’s eyes                {Oh, to see the big picture!}
And before my head agrees, my heart is on it’s knees    {This line captures my attention because that was me.}
Holy is He. Blessed am I.               {No matter what the circumstances are, this is truth!}

Be born in me, be born in me      {Christ has been born in me, and now a baby is being born in my heart…}
Trembling heart, somehow I believe that You chose me      {Amen and Amen.}
I’ll hold you in the beginning, You will hold me in the end  
Every moment in the middle, make my heart your Bethlehem
Be born in me                                       {Oh that whole last part…that makes me think of our baby.}

All this time we’ve waited for the promise       {We are waiting on His promise to fulfill the work He has started…}
All this time You’ve waited for my arms            {One day…God knows when…there will be a baby waiting for my arms!}

Did You wrap yourself inside the unexpected          {I didn’t always expect my baby to not be biological…}
So we might know that Love would go that far?     {I’ve only experienced the beginning of the love Christ is teaching me…}

Be born in me, be born in me
Trembling heart, somehow I believe that You chose me
I’ll hold you in the beginning, You will hold me in the end
Every moment in the middle, make my heart your Bethlehem
Be born in me

I am not brave
I’ll never be                                                {I certainly don’t feel brave apart from Christ!}
The only thing my heart can offer is a vacancy    {For both Christ, and a baby who needs my love…}
I’m just a girl
Nothing more                                          {The call to adopt is about HIM…}
But I am willing, I am Yours          {Not my will…I fight to give it up to Him every day it seems…}

Be born in me, be born in me
I’ll hold you in the beginning, You will hold me in the end
Every moment in the middle, make my heart your Bethlehem
Be born in me

All of that might not make sense to anyone but me. And that’s okay. All I know is that I love the way God is able to weave everything in my life together, and to bring it back to Him. That’s what is happening for me in this song. It’s my past acceptance of Christ and my future acceptance of a baby born in my heart instead of my womb…all colliding in a beautiful way.

He is Holy. Blessed am I.

To hear the song, click here. It’s beyond beautiful.

Leave a Reply

